Kabul and Memories

Precisely five years ago, I arrived in Kabul for a six-months assignment as a civilian press officer in an EU project. I knew that it would be a tough time, but of course I had no idea in what manner it would be tough. After completing my stint, I returned home, but since then I have frequently thought about those who cannot get out of the war zone, those common Afghans whose futures depend on what the bickering power-holders do or don’t do. Forty years of turmoil and no end in sight.

Anyhow, this is what Kabul (and our office compound) looked like at that time. I wish I knew how things have changed since then.

Leave a Reply

